EarthxFilm 2018 Highlights


2018 Films • 2018 Interactive • 2018 Guests

From Friday, April 13 through Sunday, April 22, 2018, EarthxFilm 2018 featured more than 40 environmentally conscious films, showcased 36 interactive and virtual-reality presentations, and welcomed more than 65 special guests and filmmakers from around the world.



2018 Music • 2018 Art

Music and art also played a big part at the second annual festival, with bands from around the state performing on the EarthX Music Stage in Fair Park and art installations that included paintings, photography and block printing.



2018 Events • 2018 Education

Special events and educational programs rounded out the fest. Outdoor screenings, filmmaker conversations, panel discussions and a community dinner are just a few things that connected audiences with filmmakers. Film competitions, our Strike-Out-Straws campaign and hands-on workshops engaged students and future filmmakers in environmental activities.




In 2018 EarthxFilm handed out the first awards ever presented by the fest, including cash prizes totaling $37,000. A portion of the prize funds directly benefited the environmental organizations and efforts that the films themselves explored or profiled. The award-winning films were led by Chanda Chevannes’s UNFRACTURED, which was selected as EarthxFilm’s $5,000 Best Feature Film Jury Prize, and Eric Liner’s BIRD OF PREY, which took home the $3,000 Audience Award for Best Feature Film.
In addition to honoring Chevannes’s UNFRACTURED with the Best Feature Film Award, the EarthxFilm jury (comprised of film festival veteran and former Art Prize Executive Director, Christian Gaines, Sundance Film Festival Documentary Programmer Hussain Currimbhoy, and entrepreneur and former Silverdocs co-founder, Amy King), gave a Special Jury Mention to Chris Jordan’s ALBATROSS. Jordan Manley’s THE CURVE OF TIME was the Jury’s choice for the $3,000 Best Short Film, with Ben Knight’s THE LAST HONEY HUNTER given the $2,000 Creative Storytelling Award. Mallory Cunningham’s DITCH THE VAN won the $2,000 Audience Award for Best Short Film.
EarthxFilm also gave out two $2,500 EarthxCatalyst Awards, given to a project still in production that has enormous potential to impact its subject, to Matthew Testa’s THE HUMAN ELEMENT, and Gabrielle Piamonte’s work-in-progress, GROUNDED. The money going to the HUMAN ELEMENT will aid in outreach and assist in funding additional screenings of the film in Texas, with the prize money for GROUNDED going toward completion funds. The two films receiving the $2,500 EarthxFilm Impact Awards, given to people or organizations who are having a real and tangible impact were Mark Benjamin and Marc Levin’s CHASING THE THUNDER benefiting the Sea Shepherd Conversation Society, and Stash Wislocki’s PERMAFROST NOW benefiting the Polaris Project.

2018 EarthxFilm Award Winners

UNFRACTURED – Best Feature Award ($5000 prize)
Director: Chanda Chevannes
ALBATROSS – Special Mention
Director: Chris Jordan
THE CURVE OF TIME – Best Short ($3000 prize)
Director: Jordan Manley
THE LAST HONEY HUNTER – Creative Storytelling Award ($2000 prize)
Director: Ben Knight
GROUNDED – Earth Catalyst Award ($2500 prize)
Director: Gabrielle Piamonte
THE HUMAN ELEMENT – Earth Catalyst Award ($2500 prize)
Director: Matthew Testa
CHASING THE THUNDER – Impact Award ($2500 prize)
Directors: Mark Benjamin, Marc Levin
PERMAFROST NOW – Impact Award ($2500 prize)
Director: Stash Wislocki
Audience Awards
BIRD OF PREY – Best Feature ($3000 prize)
Director: Eric Liner
DITCH THE VAN – Best Short Film ($2000 prize)
Director: Mallory Cunningham